The US Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is planning to include Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) in the New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) Star Rating process.

Subject areas under consideration for possible inclusion or refinement include Crash Avoidance and Post-Crash Technology:

1. Warning technologies
1.1 Blind Spot Detection
1.2 Advanced Lighting

2. Intervention Technologies
2.1 Lane Departure Prevention
2.2 Crash Imminent Braking and Dynamic Brake Support
2.3 Automatic Pedestrian Detection and Braking (Frontal and Rearward)

NHTSA has issued a request for comments on the proposed changes to NCAP as part of a five-year plan.

SBD Comment ~ Up to this point NHTSA has only included Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) in the US NCAP on an advisory basis. Fitment does not affect the Star Rating of the Safercar programme. NCAP programmes in both Europe and the US are now set to include active safety systems as part of their Star Rating processes, according to SBD’s recently updated Safe Car Guide ~ Government and Market Watch. Click here for more information, or email us at

SBD Clients: click here to access the report through the SBD Portal.

Source: NHTSA

Banner space